Events

Second day at EQUITANA

20170324_113532.jpg

My assignment for today is to figure out whether I want to make a career out of horses or not. Or at least answer a few questions. At this moment I have this love-hate relationship with horses. They have been my passion since I was about 7 years old, but lately I don’t get as much pleasure out of it as I did then. Everytime that I quite riding or when I ban horses out of my life completely, I come back on that decision. But everytime I do that, I regret that I started the whole horse thing again. So what do I do?

I’m lost and completely torn between mixed feelings.

So, the questions I need to answer go as follows. What is the thing I don’t like about horses or equestrian that makes me quit? What do I like about horses or equestrian that makes me come back to it anyway. Why do I come back? Why do I regret that later on?20170324_121633.jpg
These answers need to be a little deeper than ‘I like horse riding’ of course. I need to find the underlying meaning of what makes me love and what makes me hate it so much.

At a big event as EQUITANA it should be easy to find at least one answer to these questions right? Well… it’s not. EQUITANA is a great event. Everything is about horses. There is so much to learn and so much to see. There are clinics for almost every discipline. Riders from all over Europe come to share their knowledge. There are a lot of different breeds and these people can do amazing things with their horses. They are really good at what they are doing.

My favorite horses are baroque horses. The Lusitano, Pura Raza Espanola, some Friesians. Their beautiful. So majestic. They have great spirits, are sensitive and very good at dressage. Upcomming sunday it is Baroque Day at EQUITANA and I am so looking forward to that! So what is it that I like about horses and equestrian. I tried to find things that inspired me. Connection. Youcan have this bond with a horse that is stronger than anything. You two can become one. All you need to do is think of the thing you want and your horse does is for you. At that level you can achieve anything you have ever dreamed of. No one thought it was possible, but you did it because you felt like there was something powerfull between your horse and you. That is the true beauty of equestrian. 20170324_165404.jpgSome get to be top dressage riders, some get to be excellent in natural horsemanship and ride bareback and bridleless. Some get to be world champions and some do it because they just love to be with their horse. And what inspires me even more is when people achieve these things with horses or breeds that were never expect to be able to do that.

At EQUITANA you can see these people in action. Horses are ridden bridleless, bareback, there are performing at top level of dressage. Everything that you wish you could do, you can see it be done by someone else. And it is amazing to watch. Unfortunately I can only watch, because everything is spoken in German. And I’m not really good at German. You might think something like: ‘what did you expect in Germany?’ Well, I thought that at a big event like EQUITANA, where riders, trainers and horse lovers from all over Europe gather together, the clinics would be held in English. So that everyone can understand what they are saying.
And this is exactly where it goes wrong for me here. Because in order to find something interesting, I have to know what they are talking about. I have to understand it. These riders do inspire me, but I get inspired from lots of things. I need to find my passion. I need to know whether or not I am still interested in equestrian.

Leave a Reply

